BGIA News and Events

James Clarke Chace Memorial Speaker Series

Our Speaker Series features leading figures in international affairs discussing topical and timely issues of global concern. Events are typically held one Thursday evening per month. The James Clarke Chace Speaker Series is co-sponsored by Foreign Affairs magazine.

BGIA Events

All events are free and open to the public.

Upcoming Events


Crisis of the Liberal Order: Leon Botstein & Walter Russell Mead

Thursday, May 11, 2017

6:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs, 170 E 64th St., New York, NY 10065
Leon Botstein, President of Bard College, and Walter Russell Mead, Distinguished Fellow at Hudson Institute, the James Clarke Chace Professor of Foreign Affairs and Humanities at Bard College, and Editor-at-Large of The American Interest, will discuss trends in politics across the globe. What explains the resurgence of populism and the rise of political actors on the right? What are the effects on longstanding alliances, international institutions and accepted norms? Why are democratic systems creating non-democratic outcomes?

This event is part of the James Clarke Chace Memorial Speaker Series, which is supported by Foreign Affairs. It is co-sponsored and hosted by the Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs.

The event is free and open to the public by RSVP.

Location: Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs, 170 East 64th Street, New York, NY.
Contact: bgia@bard.edu 646-839-9262

Archive of Past Events

                                        

2008

 
Thursday, December 18, 2008

The Great Inflation: The Impact on Globalization


 
Thursday, November 13, 2008

Russia


 
Thursday, October 23, 2008

Foreign Policy in Campaign 2008

116 E. 55th St. New York, NY 
 
Thursday, October 16, 2008

War for Wealth


 
Thursday, October 2, 2008

Implications of Globalization


 
Monday, September 22, 2008

Global Issues and Values-Based Foreign Policy


 
Thursday, September 18, 2008

Leadership in International Affairs


 
Thursday, September 11, 2008

The Second World


 
Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Has Multiculturalism Failed?


 
Thursday, March 27, 2008

Pakistan: What Happens Now


 
Thursday, February 21, 2008

Venture Philanthropy: Can Social Investors Transform Nonprofits?


 
Thursday, January 31, 2008

Can the CIA Get it Right?